Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Phi Beta Kappa

Executive Council

At the start of each spring semester, the Executive Council assesses student qualifications as provided in grade reports from USC's Office of the Registrar.

Executive Council Officers 2022-2023

Gwendelyn Geidel 
Affiliate Faculty and Distinguished Research Professor Emerita, 
School of Earth, Ocean and Environment 
College of Arts and Sciences 

Past President
Heather Heckman
Associate Dean for Technology
University Libraries

Ward Briggs
Distinguished Carolina Professor Emeritus, Languages, Literatures and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences

Douglas Meade
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
College of Arts and Sciences

Sarah B. Wise
Retired Faculty
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management


Executive Council Members

Lorraine Aun
Faculty Fulbright Coordinator, Office for International Scholars;

Mark Cooper
Professor, English Language and Literature, Film and Media Studies Program
College of Arts and Sciences

Ron Cox 
Dean,  Palmetto College Columbia 
Palmetto College

Amanda Fairchild 
Professor, Psychology 
College of Arts and Sciences

Jack Goldsmith
Clinical Professor, Cell Biology & Anatomy
School of Medicine Columbia

Jennifer Gunter
Interim Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; Director, Collaborative on Race
Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

D. Eric Holt
Associate Professor, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
College of Arts and Sciences

Mary Horton
Assistant Dean
University Libraries

Clifford Scott
Retired, former Director, USC Equal Opportunity Programs

Kathy Snediker
Research & Instruction Librarian; History and Social Sciences Librarian
University Libraries

Chappell Wilson
Assistant Dean for Administration
South Carolina Honors College

Sandra Kelly (ex-officio)
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.