Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Headshot of Seth Church Church, Seth
Email:  seth@seth.church
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geospatial analytics, high performance computing, spatiotemporal data visualization, and human mobility
Headshot of Robert Gudea Gudea,  Robert
Email:  rgudea@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:  Climate change transitions, environmental justice, environmental racism, qualitive, renewable energy
Headshot of Margot Habets
Habets, Margot
Email:  MHABETS@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, long-term recovery
Headshot of Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email:  mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
Headshot of Qian Huang Huang, Qian
Email:  qh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, social vulnerability, mitigation policy, public health
Headshot of Sarah Jackson Jackson, Sarah
Email:  sj36@email.sc.edu 
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, risk perception, preparedness, migration
Headshot of Youngjae Kim Kim,  Youngjae
Email:  yk4@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, sediment transport, UAS applications, remote sensing
Headshot of Naser Lessani Lessani, Naser
Email:  mlessani@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geographic Information Science, big data analysis, digital mapping 
Headshot of Huan Ning Ning, Huan
Email:  hning@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  GIScience, remote sensing, machine learning
Headshot of Peter Tereszkiewicz Tereszkiewicz, Peter
Email:  petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, Geographic Information Systems, complexity science
Headshot of Jill Thornton Thornton, Jill
Email:  jillt@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Nagel
Research:  Migration and refugees, geopolitics, faith-based activities, conflict (resolution)



Master's Students

Headshot of Savannah Baker Baker, Savannah
Email:  sb72@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, mitigation, resilience, mobility, vulnerability
Headshot of Kyser Daniels-Baessler Daniels-Baessler, Kyser
Email:  KD72@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Emergency management, remote sensing, hazards and vulnerability, resilience
Headshot of Grant Farmer Farmer, Grant
Email:  TGFARMER@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Urban heat islands, extreme heat, urban heat awareness, heat mapping, GIS, thermal remote sensing
Headshot of Alex Fulham Fulham, Alex
Email:  afulham@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  
 DeBoom
Research:
  Human geography, remote sensing, GIS
Headshot of Michael Hohlfeld Hohlfeld, Michael
Email:  hohlfeld@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Climatology, GIS
Headshot of Lily Hutchens Hutchens, Lily
Email:  lilianh@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kupfer
Research:  Landscape ecology, GIS
Headshot of Chris Long Long, Chris
Email:  CJL12@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazard communication, risk perception, climatology, GIS
Headshot of Ian O'Shea O'Shea, Ian
Email:  IOSHEA@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kneas
Research:  Human geography, political geography, land and water rights
Headshot of Andrew Prado-Alipui Prado-Alipui, Andrew
Email:  PRADOALA@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  DeBoom
Research:  Political geography, Sub-Saharan Africa, energy, resource politics
Rinehart, John
Email:
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:
Headshot of Breonna Roden Roden, Breonna
Email:  RODENB@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research:  Remote sensing, GIS, hazards
Headshot of Sydney Smith Smith, Sydney
Email:  ss154@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hardy
Research:  Political ecology, environmental racism, and coastal climate adaptation

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©