Skip to Content

Graduate School

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the governing body acting on behalf of the Graduate Faculty of the University. The Graduate Council’s authority is derived from its definition and charge in the Faculty Manual to make advisory recommendations to the Dean of the Graduate School on graduate programs and curriculum, formulation and implementation of Graduate School policies and the establishment and enforcement of standards of graduate work.



2022 – 2023 Graduate Council Members

Name Program or Affiliation End Year Keywords
(hidden column)
Abshire, Demetrius Nursing 2023  
Addy, Cheryl Interim Dean, Graduate School (ex officio)    
Anderson, Hassan Music 2025  
Barr, Wanda Graduate School (ex officio)    
Bulusu, Subrahmanyam Earth, Ocean, and Environment 2024  
Cross, Libby Graduate School (ex officio)    
Culpepper, Wright Graduate School (ex officio)    
Das Gupta, Rajat Graduate Student Association 2023  
Ellis, Jean Vice Chair, Geography 2024  
Fang, Jing College of Pharmacy 2025  
Goldsmith, Edie School of Medicine 2025  
Harrington, Shana Physical Therapy 2023  
Houp, Trena Director, Academic Programs and eLearning (ex officio)    
Jenkins, Toby Graduate School (ex officio)    
Kubickova, Marketa Hotel, Restaurant, and Tourism Management 2024  
Matchin, William Communication Sciences and Disorders 2024  
McAdoo, Terrance Instruction and Teacher Education 2025  
Mitchell, Murray Council Secretary, Graduate School (ex officio)    
Moore, Dale Ombudsman, Graduate School (ex officio)    
Nelakuditi, Srihari Computer Science and Engineering 2023  
Reisman, David Biological Sciences 2024  
Regoeczi, Wendy Criminology and Criminal Justice 2025  
Shapiro, Stephen Chair, Sport and Entertainment Management 2023  
Venkataraman, Sriram Management Science 2023  
Wiskur, Sheryl Chemistry and Biochemistry 2023  
Woods, Neal Political Science 2025  
Yao, Christina Education Leadership and Policies 2024  


Academic Policy and Practices Committee

Name Program or Affiliation
Ellis, Jean Chair, Geography
Brown, Matt Sport and Entertainment Management
Drasgow, Erik Educational Studies
Wooten, Nikki Social Work


Fellowships and Scholarships Committee

Name Program or Affiliation
Nelakuditi, Srihari Chair, Computer Science and Engineering
Gross, Andrew Mechanical Engineering
Hazlett, Linda Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Kim, Kathy Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management
Ohrt, Jonathan Counselor Education
Selph, Margaret Nursing
Stuart, Greg Music

Grievances , Appeals and Petitions Committee

Name Program or Affiliation
Harrington, Shana Chair, Physical Therapy
Abshire, Demetrius Nursing
Das Gupta, Raja Graduate Student Association
Resiman, David Biological Sciences


Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, and Related Professional Programs Committee 

Name Program or Affiliation
Regoeczi, Wendy Chair, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Limberg, Dodie Counselor Education
Morgan, Becky Instruction and Teacher Education
Thompson, Kim School of Information Science


Science, Math, and Related Professional Programs Committee 

Name Program or Affiliation
Fang, jing Chair, College of Pharmacy
Mensch, Jim Athletic Training
Xu, Songhua Integrated Information Technology


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.